Choose your language

Advisory Group

Members of the Fourth Peacebuilding Fund Advisory Group
(2015- 2016)

The Secretary-General established, in October 2006, a multi-year trust fund for post conflict peacebuilding, the Peacebuilding Fund (PBF). The revised terms of reference of the Fund (A/63/818) provide for the establishment of an independent Advisory Group, composed of ten eminent personalities appointed for a two-year period to provide advice and oversight on various matters including the Fund’s performance and management, the speed and appropriateness of its resources allocations and its reporting requirements. Terms of reference have been established for the Advisory Group. There have been so far four Advisory Groups:

  • 1st Advisory Group: 2008 – 2009
  • 2nd Advisory Group: 2010 – 2011
  • 3rd Advisory Group: 2012 – 2014 *
  • 4th Advisory Group: 2015 – 2016 **

* The 3rd Advisory Group was extended by one year in order to see through to the end the global 2013 PBF Review and the establishment of the Business Plan 2014-2016

** The 4th Advisory Group was appointed by the Secretary-General on 2 February 2015. This fourth Advisory Group will play a particularly important role, as it convenes during the time that the 2015 Peacebuilding Architecture Review will be undertaken, and will advise PBF on corresponding follow-up adjustments. More information about the PBA review can be found here.

The Members of the group are listed below. The Secretary-General has asked Mr. Nigel Roberts, also a member of the preceding group and co-author of the World Bank’s World Development Report in 2011, to serve as Chair.

  • Mr. Bisrat Aklilu
  • Mr. Emmanuel Kwesi Aning
  • Ms. Mariska van Beijnum
  • Ms. Cecilia Björner
  • Mr. Charles T. Call
  • Ms. Ana Maria Ibanez
  • Ms. Misako Kaji
  • Ms. Shin-wha Lee
  • Mr. Nigel Roberts (Chair)
  • Ms. Torunn L. Tryggestad

For bios of the 4th Advisory Group, please click here.

For bios of the 3rd Advisory Group, please click here.